SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE JACKSON MUNICIPAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

January 9, 2023

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL/DECLARATION OF QUORUM

Pursuant to proper notice, the Board of Commissioners (the "Board") of the Jackson Municipal Airport Authority (the "Authority" or "JMAA") convened its Special Board Meeting in the Community Room of the Jackson-Medgar Wiley Evers International Airport ("JAN") in Jackson, Mississippi at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, January 9, 2023. A copy of the Board Meeting Notice is attached as Exhibit "A" hereto.

Chairman Herring presided, called the Meeting to order at 4:07 p.m., and called the roll of Commissioners.

Warren Herring, Chairman, ("Herring"), present Rickey D. Jones, Commissioner, ("Jones"), present via Zoom Rica Lewis-Payton, Commissioner, ("Lewis-Payton"), present Sharon Bridges, Vice Chairwoman, ("Bridges"), present

Chairman Herring announced that a quorum was present and stated that the meeting would proceed with a discussion of the agenda (the "Agenda"). The following other persons were also present at the Meeting:

Regina Q. May, Esq., Board Counsel for JMAA ("May") Steven G. Williams, Esq., Legal Officer for JMAA ("Williams")

And persons listed on the sign-in sheet for the January 9, 2023 Meeting, Exhibit "B" hereto.

II. INVOCATION – None.

III. APPROVAL OF BOARD NOTICES

Notice of Special Meeting of the Board of Commissioners scheduled for Monday, January 9, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. in the Community Room, Jackson-Medgar Wiley Evers International Airport in Jackson, MS.

At this time, the Commissioners discussed potential topics for Executive Session. Commissioner Lewis-Payton made a motion to go into Closed Session. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairwoman Bridges and the motion passed 4-0. The public was asked to leave the room.

4:14 p.m. The Commissioners discussed whether to go into Executive Session. Vice Chairwoman Bridges made a motion to go into Executive Session to get an update on the take over litigation. Commissioner Payton-Lewis seconded the motion and it passed 4-0.

4:58 p.m. Commissioner Jones made a motion to return to Open Session. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairwoman Bridges and passed 4-0.

5:00 p.m. In Open Session, Chairman Herring announced that the Commission was out of Executive Session and that no decisions were made.

At this time, the Commission proceeded with the presentation of lobbying groups:

- 1. Cornerstone. Drew Maddox and Elliott Flagg made a presentation to the Commissioners and were asked questions during a general discussion.
- 2. The Consultants of Jackson. Chip Reno, Evelyn Johnson, and Serena Flowers presented to the Commissioners. The Commissioners asked questions and there was a general discussion.
- 3. BSS Global. Katies Bryant Snell and Kimberly Banks presented to the Commissioners and discussed the firm's history and accomplishments.
- 4. The Daniels Group. Trey Daniels and Donna Echols presented to the Commissioners.

At this time, Vice Chairwoman Bridges made a motion to go forward with the RFQ for government relations (lobbying). Commissioner Payton-Lewis seconded the motion. Herring, Bridges, and Lewis-Payton voted yes and Commissioner Jones voted no. The motion carried 3-1.

Also at this time, Commissioner Lewis-Payton motioned that any policies, procedures, research, etc. which concern a particular issue before the Commissioners be included in the Board packet along with recommendations from experts in the field. Vice Chairwoman Bridges seconded the motion and it passed 4-0.

The next topic for discussion was a proposed 90-day extension for Acting Chief Executive Officer John Means. It was stated that a search firm had been engaged to find a new CEO. Commissioner Lewis-Payton made a motion to extend Means' term by 90 days. Vice Chairwoman Bridges seconded the motion and it passed 4-0.

The final topic for the meeting was authorization to put the Sharonda Barnes settlement on the payment docket. Commissioner Lewis-Payton made a motion to do so which was seconded by Chairman Herring. The motion passed 3-0-1 as Vice Chairwoman Bridges abstained from the vote because this matter was before her time on the Board.

At 7:10 p.m. Vice Chairwoman Bridges moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Lewis-Payton and passed 4-0.

7:12 p.m. – ADJOURNED.

Respectfully submitted,

Mr. Warren Herring, Commissioner and Chairman

1

Ms. Sharon Bridges, Commissioner and Vice Chairwoman

Sharm Bridges

Ms. Rica Lewis-Payton, Commissioner

ju Jerni tam with conserver of usere Ą 12

Mr. Rickey Jojes, Gommissioner